Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal    
Site's Home Page  
About the Convention  
Text of the Convention  
Status of Ratifications  
Country Contacts  
Governing Bodies  
Strategic Plan  
Regional Centres  
National Reporting  
The Secretariat  
Internship Opportunities  
Legal Matters  
Technical Matters  
Financial Matters  
Partnerships Programme  
Resource Mobilisation  
Convention Meetings  
Meeting Documents  
Press Room  
Useful Links  
Mobile Phone Partnership  
Computer Partnership  
Appeal for Funding  
MPPI Documents  
PACE Documents  
The Millennium Development Goals and the Basel Convention

Millennium Development Goals

1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger.
2. Achieve universal primary education.
3. Promote greater gender equality and empower women.
4. Reduce child mortality.
5. Improve maternal health.
6. Combat HIV/AIDs, malaria and other diseases.
7. Ensure environmental sustainability.
8. Develop a global partnership for development.

Integrating Environment and Development

The greatest challenge of the 21st century is to provide every human being on the planet with a long, healthy, and fulfilling life, free of poverty and full of opportunities to participate in the life of their community. The Millennium Development Goals flow from the Millennium Declaration signed by 189 Governments, of which 147 were represented by their Heads of State, in September 2000. The MDGs set clear targets for reducing poverty and other sources of human deprivation, and for promoting sustainable development. There are eight goals (summarized in the box below) and 18 concrete targets for development.

The MDGs provide a common framework for the international development community, giving a guide for policy and programme development and the assessment of their effectiveness. The targets are ambitious, and include curbing poverty, hunger, disease, illiteracy, environmental degradation, and discrimination against women by 2015.

The MDGs also underline, in goal eight, the shared responsibilities of developing countries, and countries with economies in transition, to pursue poverty reduction and good governance, and of developed countries to support the efforts of developing countries and countries with economies in transition by increasing aid, opening trade to exports from developing countries and countries with economies in transition, and providing debt relief.

Site Map Seach Home